Music at Aquinas College

Concerts and Events

Unless otherwise noted, all events are free of charge and take place in Kretschmer Recital Hall in the Art and Music Center. For more information, please call (616) 632-2413.

Spring 2019 Concert and Events Calendar

St. Thomas Aquinas Week Celebration
Monday, January 21 through Monday, January 28

The Hildegard Singers, Evening Prayer with Spanish Pilgrimage Music
Monday, January 28 at 6:00 p.m.
Our Lady Seat of Wisdom Chapel

Kathy Gibson, Contemporary Vocal Artist in a Solo Concert
Saturday, February 9 at 7:30 p.m.
Kathy Gibson, award winning vocalist and Aquinas alumna in concert with Joshua Keller, pianist.

International Recording Artist, Pianist Roberto Prosseda in Recital
Saturday, February 16 at 3:00 p.m.

“Winter Experience” Concert
A concert featuring all Music Department Ensembles
Sunday, February 17 at 3:00 p.m.
Hot cocoa and cookies to follow!   

Senior Recital of Danielle Frenzel, piano and organ
Friday, February 22 at 7:30 p.m.
Our Lady Seat of Wisdom Chapel

Broadway Revue 2019
AQ Jazz Band and Vocal Soloists
TO BE RESCHEDULED
TBA

AQ Fine Arts Day
Friday, March 1
High School students are invited to explore college majors/minors in Art, Creative Writing, Music and Theatre through workshops taught by AQ professors during this exciting day of arts immersion. Visit www.aquinas.edu/fa-aqday for more information.

A Classic - Jazz Encounter: Gary McCourry, Saxophone with Cynthia Haas, accompanist, and the Beer City Saxes
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 at 7:30 p.m.
Classical solo repertoire and GR's own professional sax quintet are on display as AQ's adjunct instructor brings this engaging program to the stage.

A Celebration of Bells with the Valenti and Campana Handbell Ensembles
Tuesday, March 19 at 7:30 p.m.  

Senior Voice Recital of Theresa Redmond, soprano
Friday, March 22 at 7:30 p.m.
Reception to follow!

Student Honors Recital
Saturday, March 23 at 7:30 p.m.
After-glow reception to follow!

Lenten Organ Meditations with Spoken Word and Solos from Music Students, Faculty and Alumni
Friday, March 29 at 6:00 pm
Our Lady Seat of Wisdom Chapel

Spring Oratorio Concert
AQ College Chorus in collaboration with the Fountain Street Church Choir

Dr. Mark Webb, director
Sunday, March 31 at 4:00 p.m.
Fountain Street Church 24 Fountain Street NE  
Featuring the world premiere of a choral suite on the poetry of Emily Dickinson, composed by Nicholas Palmer.

AQ College Band Concert & Brass Quintet, with the Concerto Competition Winner and special guests: Minutemen Brass Octet of the Michigan Army National Guard
Sunday, April 7 at 3:00 p.m.

Jazz and The Latin Touch: The Influence of Traditional Cuban, Brazilian, and Mexican Music on Jazz
AQ Jazz Band with guests: AQ Women’s Chorus

Tuesday, April 9 at 7:30 p.m.
Jazz Cafe, Donnelly Center

A Concert of Sacred Music for Palm Sunday  
AQ Collegiate Singers and Chamber Strings
Sunday, April 14 at 3:00 p.m.
Dominican Chapel at Marywood

Summer Jazz Camp 2019
Sunday, June 16-Friday June 21
Open to middle school through college to adult learners!