Marketing & Communications  


September 23, 2004 - Aquinas College will induct twelve former athlete's into its Athletic Hall of Fame Friday along with three other honorees for the College's Hall of Fame. The ceremonies will take place Friday, September 24, in the Wege Student Center Ballroom on the Aquinas campus, 1607 Robinson Road S.E. The banquet event begins at 6:30 p.m. with induction ceremonies starting at 8 p.m.
In addition to the inductees to the Halls of Fame, the Aquinas Alumni Association will recognize three individuals for their leadership and service to both the College and their communities.

Rosemary (Hickey?58) Zant, the event director for the "Positively Warren Golf Classic" and former Event Director for the Multiple Sclerosis Society's "Tee-Off for MS," will receive the Alumni Association's Outstanding Alumni of the Year Award. In addition, John Wheeler, an Aquinas Trustee and CEO for Rockford Companies, will receive the Association's Distinguished Service Award for his commitment to many vital community projects that reflect his "leadership, service to others and pursuit of the common good," the qualities Aquinas likes to see in each of its students. The Association will also honor one of its own Board members for their individual contributions to the College and will announce their selection Friday evening.

Aquinas will induct three special people into its College Hall of Fame. Sr. Aquin Gallagher, O.P., an outstanding English teacher and advisor to many alumni at the College over the years. She died in 1981.

The College will also honor posthumously, C. Arthur Woodhouse, a financier, executive, Catholic lay leader within the Diocese and Aquinas' first lay Board member. He died in 1981. Norbert Hruby, Ph.D., Aquinas' second president, will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame for the many contributions of leadership and service to the College community.

The Athletic Department will induct twelve people into its Hall of Fame, including four individuals and its 1969 Tennis Team.

The individual honorees are: Alese (Keiser '89) Wordley of Houston, Texas (basketball); Fabian Knizacky '82 of Ludington, Michigan (track and field); Paul Gnepper '74 of New Riegel, Ohio (baseball/basketball); and, Pat Ryan '70 of Chicago, Illinois (basketball).

The 1969 Men's Tennis Team is being honored for bringing home an NAIA State Championship title and for its representation at the National NAIA Tournament that year. The inductees include Chuck Frydrych '63 of Grand Rapids, coach; Terry Abel '69 of Saranac, assistant coach; Michael Crawford, M.D. '69 of Grand Rapids; Terence Green '70 '87 of Carlsbad, California; Harold Hall '71 of Louisville, Kentucky; Joe Hesse III, Ph.D. '69 of Rockford, Michigan; Roger Lilak '72 of Petoskey, Michigan; and, Gregory Pfent '70 of Grand Rapids.

Tickets for the event are $60 and can be purchased through the Aquinas Development Office at (616) 632-2809.