Contemporary Writers Series at Aquinas College
  • 4 authors headshots

    Contemporary Writers Series

  • Cooper and Gibley

    Contemporary Writers Series

Brendan Kiely - September 27, 2018
Desiree Cooper - November 8, 2018
Ashley Hope Pérez - February 7, 2019
Alison Swan - April 11, 2019

Note: Unless otherwise noted, all readings are at 7:30 p.m. in the Wege Ballroom on the Aquinas College campus.

Brendan Kiely

September 27, 2018

Brendan Kiely is The New York Times bestselling author of All American Boys (with Jason Reynolds), The Last True Love Story, and The Gospel of Winter. His work has been published in ten languages, received a Coretta Scott King Author Honor Award, the Walter Dean Myers Award, the Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award, was twice awarded Best Fiction for Young Adults (2015, 2017) by the American Library Association, and was a Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2014. Originally from the Boston area, he now lives with his wife in New York City. Tradition (May 2018) is his fourth novel.

Desiree Cooper

November 8, 2018

Desiree Cooper is a former attorney and Pulitzer Prize-nominated journalist. Her debut collection of flash fiction, Know the Mother (Wayne State University Press, 2016), is a 2017 Michigan Notable Book that has won numerous awards for short story and cover design, including a 2017 Next Generation Indie Book Award. Cooper is a contributor to the seminal essay collection, Detroit 1967, reflecting upon the 50th anniversary of the rebellion in Detroit. Detroit 1967 is a winner of the Historical Society of Michigan’s 2017 State History Award. Cooper’s fiction and poetry have appeared in Callaloo, Detroit Noir, Best African American Fiction 2010 and This is the Place, among other online and print publications. A 2015 Kresge Artist Fellow, Cooper was a founding board member of Cave Canem, a national residency for emerging black poets. She is currently a Kimbilio Fellow, a national residency for African American fiction writers. View the video of Desiree Cooper at Aquinas College.

Ashley Hope Peréz

February 7, 2019

Ashley Hope Pérez is the author of three novels. Her most recent, Out of Darkness, was described by The New York Times as a “layered tale of color lines, love and struggle” and was named one of Booklist’s “50 Best YA Books of All Time.” It also won the 2016 Tomás Rivera Book Award, the 2016 Américas Award, and a 2016 Printz honor for excellence in young adult literature from the American Library Association. Ashley is an assistant professor of world literatures at The Ohio State University and is hard at work on her fourth novel, Walk It Down, which will be published by Dutton Books for Young Readers.

Alison Swan

April 11, 2019

Alison Swan’s poems and essays have appeared in many places, including her poetry chapbooks Before the Snow Moon and Dog Heart, and the recent award-winning anthologies Elemental, Ghost Fishing: An Eco-Justice Poetry Anthology and Here: Women Writing on the Upper Peninsula. Her anthology Fresh Water: Women Writing on the Great Lakes is a Michigan Notable Book. A Mesa Refuge alum and a Petoskey Prize for Grassroots Environmental Leadership co-winner, she teaches literature and writing in the Institute of the Environment and Sustainability at Western Michigan University.

Current Brochures

Fall brochure
Spring brochure